Ask your local candidate a question.

Sunday, June 23, 2024

Local Agency Honors Volunteers

PRESS RELEASE: Newton, NJ (July 13, 2023) – Volunteers and representatives from local businesses and organizations were recently recognized for their outstanding efforts in support of Project Self-Sufficiency at the agency’s annual Mosaic Awards ceremony.  The event recognizes individuals, schools, civic groups, businesses, and non-profit organizations which have provided invaluable assistance to the agency during the previous year.  Michael McNamara received the Spirit of Service Award, a new category which was added this year in memory of former Board President Beverly Gordon.  In addition, several dedicated volunteers were welcomed into the Louise E. Murphy Center for Volunteerism Circle of Leaders which singles out extraordinary efforts by those who have already received a Mosaic Award.  Project Self-Sufficiency is a non-profit agency which specializes in services for low-income families in Sussex, Hunterdon, Morris, and Warren Counties.

“The Mosaic Awards honors the individuals and organizations that have been instrumental in helping us to pursue our mission throughout the year,” noted Deborah Berry-Toon, Executive Director of Project Self-Sufficiency.  “This event recognizes that even the smallest contributions can combine with the efforts of others to have a powerful impact on the community.  The lives of thousands of local families have been changed for the better because of the thoughtfulness and generosity of these individuals.”

Several longstanding volunteers and businesses were inducted into the Circle of Leaders, under the umbrella of the Louise E. Murphy Center for Volunteerism, including Karen Cummins, Christine De Stefano, Staci Grant, the Youth Group from the First Presbyterian Church of NewtonHarmony in Motion, Peter Mahler, Mark Maruska, Kathy Nauta, the Newton Police Department, Carol Novrit, Barbara O’Neill, Rita Oroho, Lois and Harold Pellow, Luke Rizzo, J.M. Rodgers Company, Diana Sheeran, Robert Soldoveri, Thorlabs, Inc., Chelsea Vandergroef, the Newton V.F.W. Post 5360, and Linda Wistermayer.

Community members who were honored with Mosaic Awards include the Culinary Arts Program at Sussex County Community College, Carol Decker, Kathleen Foley, Shelly Harvey, Helen and Richard Heckman, Rebecca Johnson, Phillipsburg Housing Authority, Catherine Kut, Helen O’Shea, Sussex County Special Child Health Services, the Optics Technology Program, Sussex County Community College and Thorlabs, Owen Gray Memorial Foundation, Sandi Piazza, R.E.N.O. the Band, Suzanne Troiano, and Zenon Zysk.