Ask your local candidate a question.

Sunday, May 26, 2024

WCCC Students Inducted into Prestigious National Honor Society

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP, N.J. – Seventy-six students joined the ranks of Warren County Community College’s prestigious Alpha Upsilon Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for two-year colleges, on Wednesday, April 5. 

These students join members nationwide and abroad who have proven outstanding academic records and have shown commitment to educational pursuits. 

Phi Theta Kappa International (PTK) is the honor society for two-year colleges and boasts members worldwide. Among the criteria for induction, students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher. As a member of PTK, students are eligible to apply for Phi Theta Kappa transfer scholarships offered by more than 600 four-year colleges and universities throughout the United States. 

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society promotes the values of fellowship, leadership, service and scholarship. 

Adam Tokarski lights a candle, representing the light of knowledge, during the ceremony.

In her introductory remarks, Sarah Sylverne, Alpha Upsilon Rho Chapter president, welcomed the candidates, their families and friends, who filled the room to capacity.

Tatyana Aguilar, Warren’s EOF coordinator/recruiter, gave the keynote address, entitled “Loud & Proud: Embrace Your Success.” She spoke to the candidates directly, saying, “Being invited to be a member of Phi Theta Kappa is a highly prestigious opportunity. Past members include a United Nations ambassador, PBS host, Apollo-13 astronaut, Emmy Award-winning actress, Olympic athletes and many more. This is just to give you a peek at what you can accomplish when you leave these doors for the last time on graduation day.”

She added, “I am confident that I speak for everyone here when I say that the opportunities for you are endless. Your loved ones, me and everyone else in this school will be watching from the sidelines.”

Warren’s acting president, Dr. Marianne Van Deursen, closed the ceremony with congratulatory remarks to the newly inducted PTK members, encouraging them to “be very proud of your authentic self, be confident in who you are, and seek every opportunity that comes your way”.

“The College remains extremely proud of the PTK inductees for their perseverance and success, not only in the classroom but in their ability to serve as peer leaders. We applaud them for their commitment to excellence,” she concluded.

Comprising both fall 2022 and spring 2023 PTK initiates, the following individuals were inducted: Ashrakt Alsharkaway, Nicolas Barbadora, Alazia Boulding, Kristina Braman, Nevaeh Bruck, William Buchanan, Kadeidra Canales, Jillian Captain, Jessica Catanzaro, Saira Colmenares-Suarez, Jessica Colontone, Baylee Cook, Cassidy Correia, Layla Cumer-Tomasula, Anders Cundiff, Alexis D’Ambly, Payton Deemer, Adriana Defuoco, Laura Deutsch, Katherina Diaz De La Vega, Andrew Diesch, Corina Dumitru-Fritz, Emily Ferreira, Brandon Ferry, Noah Fink, Dylan Flynn, Megan Fowles, Santo Galacio, Talisa Gordon, Angelo Grieco, Madison Hall, Ashley Harold, Skyler Hartman, Idaly Huamantuco, Claire Jones, Lauren Jones, Myaisha Jordan, Lauren Kelson, Thomas Knibbs IV, Elizabeth Lird-Schulz, Amy Lo, Julianna Lubertazzo, Kalei Lynn, Christina Manjappallil, Debra McCarthy, Astrid Mecca, Alissa Monetti, Ismail Moore, Erin Murphy, Brianna Orsini, Joshua Padilla, Khushi Patel, Guillermo Perez, Oscar Perez Varela, William Perrone, Anthony Reese, Jessica Reyes, Nicole Robinson, Katya Saad, Olivia Sabol, Chelsea Sawyer, Kelby Schubert, Coral Sellers, Adrienne Starck, Peyton Sutton, Trinity Thiirah, Barbara Thomas, Joseph Tinervia, Adam Tokarski, Isha Underwood, Juli VandeVeegaete, Antonina Voloschak, Ivana Waldele, Melvin Warren Jr, Shaniqua Washington and Alivia Zagra.