Tuesday, July 16, 2024

W.C. Commissioner Kern Elected to NJAC Board

PRESS RELEASE: TRENTON (December 16, 2022) – Warren County Commissioner James R. Kern III is joining the executive board of the New Jersey Association of Counties (NJAC), the non-partisan organization that advocates for legislation, regulations, and policy directives that empower county governments to operate more effectively and efficiently.

Organization members approved the slate executive officers for 2023 that names Kern, now serving his second term as a Warren Commissioner, as NJAC’s Secretary-Treasurer. The rest of the executive board consists of President – Jonathan Young, Camden County Commissioner (D); First Vice President – Shaun Van Doren, Hunterdon County Commissioner (R); Second Vice President – Shanel Robinson, Somerset County Commissioner (D); and Immediate Past President – Teri O’Connor, Monmouth County Administrator (R).

“I’m honored to be appointed by my colleagues to serve on the NJAC executive board,” Kern said afterward. “NJAC is such an important organization that provides a leading voice for counties across our state. I look forward to tackling the many challenges we face over the next year,” he added.

To maintain NJAC’s non-partisan rotation of officers, the Nomination Committee selected one candidate from the Republican Party – Kern – to serve as Secretary-Treasurer with active NJAC board members given priority consideration. The Secretary-Treasurer will ascend to the Second Vice President position in 2024, the First Vice President position in 2025, and ultimately President in 2026.

As a non-partisan organization that represents the only true regional form of government in the State with a unified and proactive voice, NJAC is committed to advancing innovative programs and initiatives that enhance the level of service provided and save valuable taxpayer dollars.

Warren County maintains active participation in NJAC. Previously, former Freeholder Richard D. Gardner was the first-ever Warren County elected official to serve as president of NJAC, in 2012.